Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/suwann6/public_html/maetaoclinic.org/wp-content/themes/empire/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160

Photos from the NED 2012 Democracy Award Ceremony

To mark the International Day of Peace today, we’re bringing you these photos from the NED Democracy Award ceremony that was held in Washington D.C. yesterday afternoon.

Dr Cynthia was honoured, along with Hkun Htun Oo, Kyaw Thu, Aung Din and Min Ko Naing (who was not in attendance) for their key roles in the Democracy Movement in Burma. Full profiles of the award recipients can be found on the NED website.

The ceremony featured high profile speakers, such as House Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi, Senator John McCain and fellow Burmese democracy icon, Daw Aung San Suu Kyi.

(Images are copyright of Mae Tao Clinic)

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and Dr Cynthia greeting each other

Dr Cynthia, Shan leader Hkun Htun Oo and Aung San Suu Kyi

Award recipients Kyaw Thu, Aung Din, Dr Cynthia and Hkun Htun Oo with Aung San Suu Kyi

Receiving the Democracy Award, which honours the Democracy Movement in Burma this year

Dr Cynthia giving her acceptance speech

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi addressing the award recipients and audience

U.S. Senator John McCain, who visited MTC in 2011

Comments are closed.